2020 Incidents
Jan 34
Feb 23
Total 57

Past Incidents
2019 435
2018 413
2017 387
2016 433
2015 438
2014 439
2013 464
2012 521
2011 484
2010 507
2009 351
2008 375

Web Counters
Website Visitors
June 25, 2008
Visitors Today
Feb 25, 2020

CFD Holds Annual Installation of Chiefs and Awards Dinner
Email Print RSS Facebook Twitter

By Member web team
January 14, 2019

On Saturday evening, January 12th, the Cutchogue Fire District, in conjunction with the United Fire Co. No. 1 of the Cutchogue Fire Department and the Cutchogue Fire Department Ladies Auxiliary held their annual installation of officers ceremony and awards dinner at The Vineyard Caterers in Aquebogue. The dinner was attended by Fire Department and Ladies Auxiliary members as well as local dignitaries and invited guests.

The purpose of the evening was to officially swear in the newly elected Chief and Assistant Fire Chiefs, as well as honor our Volunteers for their service and dedication to the Cutchogue Fire Department and the community we serve. Several special awards were presented over the course of the evening.

In what has become a tradition, the CFD band made a special appearance at the dinner, and played at start the evening in honor of the Newly Elected Chiefs. Band leader Tom Roslak led the band during the performance as the attendees entered the main dining room.

Newly elected Chief Thomas Shalvey Jr. was sworn into office as the 44th Chief of Department, along with his assistants, First Assistant Chief Amos Meringer, and Second Assistant Chief Michael C. Boken.

Under the direction of the Board of Fire Commissioners the oath of office was administered to Chiefs by New York State Assemblyman Anthony Palumbo of New Suffolk.

Immediatley following the newly elected Company Captain Christian Voegel and Officers of the United Fire co. No. 1 were sworn in by Southold Town Supervisor Scott Russell

Outgoing Chief Lawrence Behr was was honored by the District and Department for his service as Chief for the past two years. He was presented with several proclamations and gifts in recognition of his service to the Department and Community. The members of CFD would like to thank Ex-Chief Behr and his wife Carolee, for their support and dedication during his term in office and in the chiefs line.

This year CFD is honored to recognize members that have reached significant milestones in their firefighting career.

Ex-Chief John Lademann was honored for celebrating his 60th year of active service and Firefighter / Commissioner Sanford Friemann was honored for his 50 years of service to the community.

Following a standing ovation, Jack and Sandy were presented plaques by the Chiefs as well as several proclamations presented on behalf of our local dignitaries. These items only serve as a small token of appreciation and thanks for their lifetime of service to the CFD.

other members who were honored for their years of service were:

40 years:
Lt. Timothy Horton
Kevin Lynch
William Lademann

30 years:
Kathy Hartmann

In addition to the above longevity awards several special awards were presented to several members for service to the Department over the past year. The CFD is pleased to honor the following members:

2018 Firefighters of the Year – John Hinton Jr.

Johnny was honored for his lifesaving actions, rescuing a person for a burning vehicle while working as a Southold Town Police Officer. http://www.cutchoguefiredept.org/apps/public/news/newsView.cfm?News_ID=855

2018 EMS Providers of the Year – EMT-CC / LT. Garett Lake, EMT / Ex-Chief Thomas Martin, EMT James Rocco, Former EMT / Lt. Chris Dinizio

These men were honored for their lifesaving actions that occurred during a paddleboard accident in August 2018 in Peconic Bay. http://www.cutchoguefiredept.org/apps/public/news/newsView.cfm?News_ID=885

2018 Probationary Member of the Year – Jacqueline Berkoski

Chiefs Awards / Total Points: Lt. Kate Michalak, James Burns, Ex-Chief William Brewer, Water Rescue Captain Ed Nicholson, James Rocco, Ex-Chief Arthur Brewer.

The Commissioners of the Cutchogue Fire District, the Chiefs, Officer and Members of the Cutchogue Fire Department United Fire Co. No. 1, and the Cutchogue Fire Department Ladies Auxiliary would like to extend our congratulations and thanks to all of the night's honorees and award winners.

Thank you to our fellow brothers and sisters of the Mattituck Fire Department who allowed our members to attend and enjoy this special evening. MFD provided an engine and ambulance crew to handle any calls in our District for the evening.

More pictures will be added as they become available.

Units: CFD - Tradition - Pride - Dedication

Comment Comment 0 Comment(s)

Website Designed and Hosted By Content Proudly Maintained By Contact Info
Firehouse Solutions

Cutchogue Fire District
260 New Suffolk Rd.
Cutchogue, New York 11935

Emergency Dial 911
Station: (631)-734-6907
District Fax: (631)-734-7079
Copyright © 2020 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)