CFD Holds Annual Installation of Chiefs and Awards Dinner
By Web Team
January 17, 2020

On Saturday evening, January 11th, the Cutchogue Fire District, in conjunction with the United Fire Co. No. 1 of the Cutchogue Fire Department and the Cutchogue Fire Department Ladies Auxiliary held their annual installation of officers ceremony and awards dinner at The Vineyard Caterers in Aquebogue. The dinner was attended by Fire Department and Ladies Auxiliary members as well as local dignitaries and invited guests.

The purpose of the evening was to officially swear in the Chiefs and Officers for 2020, as well as honor our Volunteers for their service and dedication to the Cutchogue Fire Department and the community we serve. Several special awards were presented over the course of the evening.

In what has become a tradition, the CFD band made a special appearance at the dinner, and played at start the evening in honor of the the Chiefs. Band leader Tom Roslak led the band during the performance as the attendees entered the main dining room.

Under the direction of the Board of Fire Commissioners the oath of office was administered to the 2020 officers by Southold Town Coucilwoman / Deputy Supervisor Jill Doherty.

Commissioner / Chairman of the board Matthew Martin welcomed everyone to the festivities and made a special presentation to recognize outgoing Commissioner Robert Fisher. Bob served on the Board of Fire Commissioners for the past 10 years and was presented a plaque in appreciation for his service.

Immediately following Chief Thomas Shalvey Jr. presented several awards to honor our members that have reached significant milestones in their firefighting career.

40 years:
Ex-Chief David Blados
Ex-Chief Arthur Brewer

30 years:
Ex-Chief James Fogarty Jr.
Bruce Stewart
Hank Rienecker
Charles Witczak

Paramedic Richard Hartman received special recognition from the Chiefs for celebrating his 50th year as an EMS provider. Rich has a storied career that includes service as a paid paramedic with an ambulance service and volunteer service with several other agencies before joining Cutchogue FD over 20 years ago.

In addition to the above longevity awards several special awards were presented to several members for service to the Department over the past year. The CFD is pleased to honor the following members:

2019 Firefighters of the Year – Ex-Chief Arthur Brewer

2019 EMS Provider of the Year – Robert C.Scott

2018 Probationary Member of the Year – Wylee Sanders

Chiefs Awards / Total Points: Lt. Kate Michalak, Ex-Chief Arthur Brewer, Ex-Chief William Brewer, Water Rescue Captain Ed Nicholson, & James Rocco,.

The Commissioners of the Cutchogue Fire District, the Chiefs, Officer and Members of the Cutchogue Fire Department United Fire Co. No. 1, and the Cutchogue Fire Department Ladies Auxiliary would like to extend our congratulations and thanks to all of the night's honorees and award winners.

Thank you to our fellow brothers and sisters of the Mattituck Fire Department who allowed our members to attend and enjoy this special evening. MFD provided an engine and ambulance crew to handle any calls in our District for the evening.

More pictures will be added as they become available.

Units: CFD - Tradition - Pride - Dedication