2024 Incidents
Jan 43
Feb 40
Mar 33
Apr 43
May 39
June 47
Jul 26
Total 271

2023 Incidents
Jan 33
Feb 19
Mar 36
Apr 51
May 45
Jun 48
Jul 49
Aug 48
Sept 44
Oct 40
Nov 42
Dec 43
Total 498

Past Incidents
2022 434
2021 474
2020 476
2019 435
2018 413
2017 387
2016 433
2015 438
2014 439
2013 464
2012 521
2011 484
2010 507
2009 351
2008 375

Web Counters
Website Visitors
June 25, 2008
Visitors Today
Jul 20, 2024

CFD Holds Annual Installation of Chiefs and Awards Dinner
Email Print RSS Facebook Twitter RSS

By Web Team
January 21, 2024

On Saturday evening, January 20th, the Cutchogue Fire District, in conjunction with the United Fire Co. No. 1 of the Cutchogue Fire Department and the Cutchogue Fire Department Ladies Auxiliary held their annual installation of officer’s ceremony and awards dinner at Raphael Vineyards in Peconic. The dinner was attended by Fire Department and Ladies Auxiliary members as well as local dignitaries and invited guests.

The purpose of the evening was to officially recognize and install the newly elected Chiefs and Officers for 2024, as well as honor our Volunteers for their service and dedication to the Cutchogue Fire Department and the community we serve. Several special awards were presented over the course of the evening.

Commissioner Steven Harned served as master of ceremonies and welcomed everyone to the festivities. Among the guests that addressed the attendees were Southold Town Supervisor Albert Krupski Jr., N.Y. State senator Anthony Palumbo, and N.Y. State Assemblywoman Jodi Giglio.

Chief William Brewer was sworn into office for the second year of his term as Chief of Department, along with his assistants, First Assistant Chief Christian Voegel and Second Assistant Chief Christopher Dinizio. The oath of office was administered to Chiefs by Chairman of the Board of Fire Commissioners Christopher Talbot.

The newly elected Company Captain Joseph Hinton and Officers of the United Fire Co. No. 1 were sworn into office by the new Southold Town Supervisor Albert Krupski Jr.

Immediately following several special awards were handed out.

This year CFD is honored to recognize members that have reached significant milestones in their firefighting career. This year we were pleased to honor a 60 year member and (2) 50 year members.

Ex-Chief Everett Glover was honored for celebrating his 60th year of active service.
Affectionately known as “Evie” has served CFD with distinction since 1964. He continues to serve as one of the Department’s most active Drivers. He served as Chief of the Department from 1983 to 1984 and he was honored as Firefighter of the Year in 2003 for his tireless efforts to support our Annual Chicken Barbecue and the Department’s Santa Claus.

Ex-Chief Joseph Zuhoski Jr. and Firefighter John Behr Jr. were honored for their 50th year of active service.

Ex-Chief Joseph Zuhoski Jr. – Joined in 1974 and served as department Chief in 1991 &1992, he was elected to the Board of Fire Commissioners and served to (5) Consecutive terms from 1996-2021. He was named Firefighter of the Year in 1982.

Firefighter John Behr Jr. – Began his Firefighter career with CFD in 1974. Throughout his 50 years, he has served with pride in both the Riverhead and Cutchogue Fire Departments alongside several family members. He continues to be an asset to our Department.

Following a standing ovation, Evie, Joe and John were presented plaques by the Chiefs as well as several proclamations presented on behalf of our local dignitaries. These items only serve as a small token of appreciation and thanks for his lifetime of service to the CFD.

In addition to the above longevity awards several special awards were presented to several members for service to the Department over the past year. The CFD is pleased to honor the following members:

2023 Firefighters of the Year – Captain Joseph Hinton, Lieutenant Bryan Zissel, Lieutenant Christian Figurniak, Lieutenant Kenneth Pearsall III
These (4) members are being honored for their heroic actions that took place on July 6, 2023 in the waters of Long Island Sound as part of a water rescue team responding to rescue (2) swimmers who were lost and in distress when they became caught in the currents of the Sound and became separated from their boat. These members working as a team relying on their training and maritime skills were able to successfully locate and rescue (2) teenagers who were eventually located several miles from the shore and on the brink of exhaustion when found. The actions of these 4 firefighters saved the lives of the 2 teenagers.

2023 EMS Provider of the Year – EMT Patrick Kaelin
Pat joined CFD in 2001 and gained his EMT certification shortly thereafter. He has continued to serve and respond to emergencies during our critical times when EMT’s are needed especially during the daytime often leaving his business. Pat’s quiet demeanor, professionalism and experience have made him a mentor and a valuable part of our Rescue Squad.

Probationary Member of the Year: Ethan Helgans

2023 Top Responder: Frank Zory

Chiefs Awards / Total Points: Ken Pearsall, Ethan Helgans,, Arthur Brewer, Michael C. Boken, Joe Ingenito

EMS Excellance Awards: Ken Pearsall, Tom Martin, Kenneth Burns, Patrick Kaelin, Michael C. Boken , Steve Braverman

These EMS awards were presented to recognize the members with the most hospital transports for 2023. Throughout the year All or our EMS providers and Ambulance Drivers dedicate countless additional hours beyond the initial response to ensure the best care possible to our patients until they arrive at a hospital.

In what has become a tradition, the CFD band made a special appearance at the start of dinner, and played under the direction of their leader Tom Roslak.

The Commissioners of the Cutchogue Fire District, the Chiefs, Officer and Members of the Cutchogue Fire Department United Fire Co. No. 1, and the Cutchogue Fire Department Ladies Auxiliary would like to extend our congratulations and thanks to all of the night's honorees and award winners.

Thank you to the Andrea Parks and the dinner committee for putting together a great evening.

A good time was had by all.

Thank you to our fellow brothers and sisters of the Mattituck Fire Department who allowed our members to attend and enjoy this special evening by providing stand-by and automatic Mutual Aid Coverage.

More pictures will be added as they become available.

Units: CFD - Tradition - Pride - Dedication

Add a Comment Add a Comment 0 Comment(s)

Website Designed and Hosted By Content Proudly Maintained By Contact Info
Firehouse Solutions

Cutchogue Fire District
260 New Suffolk Rd.
Cutchogue, New York 11935

Emergency Dial 911
Station: (631)-734-6907
District Fax: (631)-734-7079
Copyright © 2024 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)